ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent
Ajuntament de Tortosa
Ajuntament de Tortosa

The city Region

The Catalan Statute of Autonomy stipulates that the basic regional organization of the country is structured into municipalities and traditional Catalan administrative units known as veguerias. With this configuration and a name that dates back to Catalonia’s historical institutions, the country has reinstated the political and administrative division that was in place in Catalonia until the Nova Planta decrees, when the internal division of Catalonia took the form of veguerias, with a great deal of political autonomy.

In accordance with Law 30/2010, the Generalitat (Catalan Government) organizes the country's structure and services and performs its functions on a regional basis in line with the vegueria administrative division system. The Terres de l'Ebre vegueria is comprised of the municipalities in the counties of Baix Ebre, Montsià, Ribera d'Ebre and Terra Alta. The same law states that the institutional headquarters of the Terres de l'Ebre Vegueria Council will be in the city of Tortosa.

The vegueria re-establishes a political and administrative reality in the Terres de l'Ebre region that has never ceased to exist from a social, economic and cultural perspective. The will to be a regional territory with its own voice has led to the decentralization of the Catalan Generalitat, which, in 2000, created the Government Delegation of the Terres de l'Ebre region and its administrative structure, with the regional service directorates located predominantly in our city at the new Government headquarters on Carrer Moncada, which will soon be in operation.

Tortosa also houses the regional branches of the Diputació (Provincial Government) of Tarragona, the Baix Ebre County Council and the Institut de Desenvolupament de les Comarques de l'Ebre (Ebre Counties Development Institute).

The most important university in the region, the Universitat Rovira i Virgili (URV), has its Terres de l’Ebre campus in Tortosa. Our city is also home to university education centres of the EUSES, UNED and UOC.

You can click on this link to see more information about the Territory.